11th Annual Southern Colorado Conservation Awards

© Michael Menefee

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 Southern Colorado Conservation Awards event has been canceled. 

The Southern Colorado Conservation Awards honors the significant achievements of individuals and organizations that, through their conservation efforts, advance the well-being of Colorado’s communities, people, ecologies, and economies. The annual event focuses on conservation achievements in the broadest sense—knowing that successful conservation involves more than just resource protection; it involves a wide variety of champions across political, educational, business, research, and land management spectrums.

Our reason for investing the time, energy, and resources to put on this event annually is simple - when we come together as a regional community to celebrate the land, we will be inspired to continue to protect it. Each year our honorees’ stories exhibit courage, commitment, and tenacity. These are values we hold dear at Palmer Land Trust and seek to live up to every day. We hope you join us at this year’s event and leave inspired by the conviction of your own commitment to conserving the land. 

2019 Winners

The Stuart P. Dodge Award

Honoring a lifetime achievement in conservation.

2019 Winners: Lyda Hill and Nancy Lewis

The Environmental Stewardship Award

Recognizing an individual or organization(s) that has positively impacted the land and the way members of our communities understand and respect their relationship to it.

2019 Winner: Ranchlands

The Innovation in Conservation Award

Honoring an individual, group, project, or program that has advanced the cause of conservation by developing new conservation models, creating new conservation funding mechanisms, or implementing unique partnerships that protect our natural heritage.

2019 Winner: Dr. Michael Bartolo, Ph.D.

The Champion for Colorado Award

Celebrating an individual whose work demonstrates a profound commitment to the conservation and stewardship of Colorado's spectacular landscapes and invaluable natural resources.

2019 Winner: Pete McBride

Thank You to These Top-Tier 2019 Sponsors

Farm-to-Table Dinner Provided in Part By

Media Partners

Corporate Sponsors

Individual Sponsors

David C. Conley - Attorney

Heimerich Farms

Mendenhall Farms

Blue Ribbon Panel

Award winners are nominated by the community at-large and selected by an independent Blue Ribbon Panel.  A special thank you to our 2019 panel!

  • Jeff Chostner, Pueblo County District Attorney
  • Tony Rosendo, Executive Director - John and Margot Lane Foundation and the Dusty and Katherine Loo Foundation
  • Kimberley Sherwood, Third Sector Group 
  • Wynona Sullivan, Rocky Mountain PBS Station Manager (retired) 
  • Thayer Tutt, El Pomar President and Chief Investment Officer