10th Anniversary Southern Colorado Conservation Awards

Thursday, October 3, 2019
The Antlers Hotel
Colorado Springs, CO

© Michael Menefee

The Southern Colorado Conservation Awards (SCCA) honors the significant achievements of individuals and organizations that, through their conservation efforts, advance the well-being of Colorado’s communities, people, ecologies, and economies. The annual event focuses on conservation achievements in the broadest sense—knowing that successful conservation involves more than just resource protection; it involves a wide variety of champions across political, educational, business, research, and land management spectrums.

2019 Award Recipients

The Stuart P. Dodge Award

Honoring a lifetime achievement in conservation.


2019 Winners: Lyda Hill and Nancy Lewis


The Environmental Stewardship Award

Recognizing an individual or organization(s) that has positively impacted the land and the way members of our communities understand and respect their relationship to it.


2019 Winner: Ranchlands

The Innovation in Conservation Award

Honoring an individual, group, project, or program that has advanced the cause of conservation by developing new conservation models, creating new conservation funding mechanisms, or implementing unique partnerships that protect our natural heritage.


2019 Winner: Dr. Michael Bartolo, Ph.D.

The Champion for Colorado Award

Celebrating an individual whose work demonstrates a profound commitment to the conservation and stewardship of Colorado's spectacular landscapes and invaluable natural resources.


2019 Winner: Pete McBride


$135 Individual Ticket

$65 Young Professional Ticket (40 and under)


Stay at The Antlers

A block of rooms has been reserved for attendees of the tenth annual Southern Colorado Conservation Awards. These rooms are held for attendees until September 2, 2019. There is a discounted room rate starting at $179.00 per night. 

Call the reservation line at 1 (866) 299-4602 or (719) 955-6202 and let them know you are part of the Southern Colorado Conservation Awards group. 

Become a Sponsor

Join one of the most important conservation events of the year, become a sponsor today!

The Southern Colorado Conservation Awards are a bona fide land conservation community recognition event.  Sponsorships are a critical part of our success and help to underwrite the expenses associated with producing this important and fun event. Welcoming over 400 guests (and growing!) each year, the SCCA is an excellent cause to support.


Thank You to These Top-Tier 2019 Sponsors

Farm-to-Table Dinner Provided in Part By

Media Partners

Corporate Sponsors

Individual Sponsors

David C. Conley - Attorney

Blue Ribbon Panel

Award winners are nominated by the community at-large and selected by an independent Blue Ribbon Panel.  A special thank you to our 2019 panel!

  • Jeff Chostner, Pueblo County District Attorney
  • Tony Rosendo, Executive Director - John and Margot Lane Foundation and the Dusty and Katherine Loo Foundation
  • Kimberley Sherwood, Third Sector Group 
  • Wynona Sullivan, Rocky Mountain PBS Station Manager (retired) 
  • Thayer Tutt, El Pomar President and Chief Investment Officer