The ninth annual Southern Colorado Conservation Awards

© Michael Menefee

The Southern Colorado Conservation Awards (SCCA) honors the significant achievements of individuals and organizations that, through their conservation efforts, advance the well-being of southern Colorado’s communities, people, ecologies, and economies. The event focuses on conservation achievements in the broadest sense—knowing that successful conservation involves more than just resource protection; it involves a wide variety of champions across political, educational, business, research, and land management spectrums.

The Awards

The Stuart P. Dodge Award honors a lifetime in achievement in conservation. 

2018 Winner: Sydney Shafroth Macy  |  Film Sponsor: El Pomar Foundation

The Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes an individual or organization(s) that has positively impacted the land and the way members of our communities understand and respect their relationship to it.

2018 Winner: Loretta McEllhiney

The Innovation in Conservation Award honors an individual, group, project, or program that has advanced the cause of conservation by developing new conservation models, creating new conservation funding mechanisms, or implementing unique partnerships that protect our natural heritage.

2018 Winners: Sangre de Cristo Acequia Association and Colorado Open Lands | Film Sponsor: The Trinchera Blanca Foundation

The Inspired Future Award celebrates an individual, program, business, or organization that is undertaking an activity or effort that boldly frames the future of conservation, exhibits gumption and grit in the face of challenges, and encourages others with the resilience and optimism it will take to advance conservation. 

2018 Winners: Sarah Hamilton and Ellen Kerchner of New Roots Farm, LLC

Community Sponsorships

SCCA is a land conservation community recognition event. Community sponsorships help us cover the costs of producing this event. By making this a not-for-profit endeavor, we more effectively honor our winners and the many organizations and supporters that stand behind them. This, in turn, builds strength in the conservation community as a whole and greater political will for protecting the resources in Colorado that are important to all of us. We serve more than just a select group of conservation insiders, and, as our increasing attendance demonstrates, bring a greater understanding of conservation’s importance to a diverse audience. If you are interested in supporting or sponsoring this event, please contact our offices at [email protected] or by calling (719) 632-3236.

Award winners are nominated by the community at large and selected by an independent Blue Ribbon Panel. The 2018 panel included: Pueblo County District Attorney, Jeff Chostner; Executive Director of the John and Margot Lane Foundation and the Dusty and Katherine Loo Foundation, Tony Rosendo; Third Sector Group Principal, Kimberley Sherwood; retired Rocky Mountain PBS Station Manager, Wynona Sullivan; El Pomar President and Chief Investment Officer, Thayer Tutt; and retired attorney and former Palmer Trustee, Bruce Warren.

Thank You to These Top-Tier 2018 Sponsors

Farm-to-Table Dinner Provided in Part By:

Thank You To Our Media Partner:

Corporate Sponsors Include:

Individual Sponsors Include:

Carla Hartsell 

David C. Conley - Attorney

Lyda Hill