© Matt Payne

2015 Southern Colorado Conservation Awards

More than 300 people attended the sixth annual SCCA on September 23, 2015, at Cheyenne Mountain Resort. Award winners were nominated by the community at large and underwent a rigorous selection process by a Blue Ribbon Panel. The 2015 panel includes Pueblo County District Attorney, Jeff Chostner; Bee Vradenburg Foundation President, Phillip Kendall; Founder of the Pikes Peak Conservation Fund of the Pikes Peak Community Foundation, Kathy Loo; Rocky Mountain PBS Station Manager (retired), Wynona Sullivan; El Pomar President and Chief Investment Officer, Thayer Tutt; and retired attorney and former Palmer Land Trust Board Trustee, Bruce Warren. Videos featuring each award winner were filmed and produced by Denver-based filmmaker Blake Kimmel and showcased at the event.

Stuart P. Dodge Lifetime Achievement Award

The Stuart P. Dodge Award honors a lifetime achievement in conservation.

Winner:  Lewis Fillmore, Boone, Colorado

Friends of Open Space Award

The Friends of Open Space Award honors efforts that lead to the protection of a significant property or important landscape in southern Colorado.

Winner: Dan Pike, Evergreen, Colorado

Innovation in Conservation Award

The Innovation in Conservation Award honors the development of new conservation models, the creation of new conservation funding mechanisms, and implementation of unique conservation partnerships that protect our natural heritage.

Winner: Colorado Birding Trail

Stewardship Award

The Stewardship Award honors an individual or organization that has positively impacted the land and the way members of our communities understand and respect their relationship to the land.

Winner: Dr. Curt Sorenson, Canon City, Colorado